{ Marpurg : Essay }
Friedrich Wilhelm
Essai sur les Chorals figurés


 Friedrich Wilhelm Marpurg :
Essay on figured Chorales
One volume 9½” × 13”
46 pages
Euros 42.-

Second Essay on figured Chorales and Fugues
One volume 9½” × 13”
36 pages
Euros 38.-

F.W. Marpurg (1718 † 1795) was a great admirer of Bach and one of the major leader of the musical life in Berlin during the second half of the XVIIIth century.  He learnt the organ and the harpsichord, and in 1746 he went to Paris where he discovered Rameau’s music and the Encyclopedists.  On the request of C.P.E. Bach, he wrote the foreword for the first edition of the Art of Fugue.
Both Essays were published in 1789 et 1793 (original titles : Versuch in figurirten Chorälen sowohl für die Orgel als für das Clavichord and Zweiter Versuch in figurirten Chorälen und Fugen so wohl für die Orgel als für das Clavichord).  They show figured chorales following the German tradition and some vocal settings of chorales in four parts (and fugues in the second volume) which want to appear as references, examples of what can be done when “one knows his job”.  They are a brillant synthesis of the traditional scoring for the organ and of the new acquisitions of the language at the end of the XVIIIth century, and they show the way to Mendelssohn (Sixth Sonata, Praeludium in c minor) and Brahms’ chorales.
At the end of the first volume an Advise by Marpurg can be found, including indications about the way of playing his pieces, both on the organ and the clavichord.  But as the foreword demonstrates, using the latter instrument cannot seriously be taken into account : indeed this is organ music.


Essay on figured Chorales                            

Vom Himmel hoch da komm’ ich her
Ach was soll ich Sünder machen
Meinen Jesum laß ich nicht
O Ewigkeit du Freuden Wort
Christus der ist mein Leben
Der Herr ist mein getreuer Hirt
Jesu meine Freude
Wenn Christus seine Kirche schützt
Gott des Himmels und der Erden
Befiehl du deine Wege
Ermuntre dich mein schwacher Geist
Von Gott will ich nicht laßen
Ach Gott und Herr
Auf ! auf ! mein Herz mit Freuden
Was mein Gott will
Was Gott tut das ist wohlgetan
Aus tiefer Not schrei’ ich zu dir
Schmûcke dich o liebe Seele
Wer nur den lieben Gott läst walten
Werde munter mein Gemüte
Herr, ich habe mißgehandelt
Critical Notes

Second Essay on figured Chorales
      and Fugues
N° I.  Wach auf’ mein Herz und singe
N° II.  Alio modo
N° III.  Fuga
N° IV.  Fuga
N° V.  Ach Gott vom Himmel sieh darein
N° VI.  Alio mdo
N° VII.  Fuga sopra Allein Gott in der Höh
N° VIII.  Fuga
N° IX.  Mir nach ! spricht Christus, unser Held
N° X.  Fuga
N° XI.  Fuga
N° XII.  Capriccio
N° XIII.  Fuga
N° XIV.  Komm, o komm du Geist des Lebens
N° XV.  Alio modo
Critical Notes


Another volume by Marpurg is also available at Chanvrelin.  See in our catalogue : Marpurg, Fugues and Caprices or get straight to the detail of it.
To go back to the catalog
up to this item,
click on this button

To go to the home page,
click on this button