{ Lebègue : Second Book }
Second Livre d’Orgue


 Nicolas Lebègue :
Second Organ Book
One volume 9½” × 13”
68 pages
Euros 49.-
(First modern edition for more than one century)

Scarcely two years after the issue of his First Organ Book, Lebègue published the Second one (1678).  While the First Book, with eight large suites in Church tones, fixed the classical canons of the French organ during more than half a century and demonstrated what a high-levelled organist could get out of a big instrument, the Second book is intended for less learned organists with a smaller organ than the prestigious instrument of St.Merry at their disposal.  The works are shorter and more simple.  From the stops indications, only two keyboards are needed and the Pedal is not used.
However, many works were clearly written for a somewhat larger organ, and their published versions were brought down to fit the planned bounds.  Moreover, this time Lebègue provides works directly set up for the liturgy : a complete Mass and nine Magnificats.  Ideal for teaching, this Book allows to get familiar with the French classical organ – as it was probably its goal also in its time.  The original edition, not always safe, raises up many questions ; that's why the very comprehensive Critical Notes study the text closely and answer to all the questions the modern performer can come through.


   1er Kyrie
   2e Kyrie Fugue
   Duo pour le Christe
   4e Kyrie (Récit)
   Dernier Kyrie
   Et in terra pax
   Benedicamus te (Petit Plein-jeu)
   Glorificamus te (Jeu doux)
   Domine Deus (Cornet)
   Domine Deus Agnus Dei (Voix humaine)
   Qui tollis
   Duo du 4e Quoniam
   Trio du 4e Tu solus
   In Gloria
   Premier Sanctus
   2e Sanctus Fugue
   Trio pour l'Elévation
   Agnus Dei
   Fugue pour le 2e Agnus
Magnificat du 1er ton
   Prélude du 1er ton
   Duo du premier
   Récit pour le Cromhorne
   Basse de Trompette
   Trio du 1er ton
   Dialogue du premier
Magnificat du 2e ton
   Prélude du 2e ton
   Duo du 2.
   Basse de Trompette du 2.
   Récit du 2.
   Trio du 2.
   Cornet du 2.
   Dialogue du 2.
Magnificat du 3e ton
   Fugue du 3e
   Duo du 3.
   Trio du 3e
   Voix humaine
   Récit du 3.
   Dialogue du 3e
   Dernier Plein-jeu du 3e
Magnificat du 4e ton
   Duo du 4e
   Cornet du 4e
   Basse de Trompette du 4e
   Dialogue du 4e
   Plein-jeu du 4e
Magnificat du 5e ton
   Récit du 5e
   Cornet du 5e
   Duo du 5e
   Basse de Trompette du 5e
   Trio du 5e
   Dialogue du 5e
   Dernier Plein-jeu
Magnificat du 6e ton
   Duo du 6e
   Récit du 6e
   Trio du 6e
   Dessus de Tierce ou de Cornet
   Dialogue du 6e
   Prélude du 6e
Magnificat du 6e ton
         en g ré sol bécarre

   Cornet du 6e en g ré sol bécarre
   Basse de Trompette du 6e
   Récit de Cromorne
   Dialogue du 6e
Magnificat du 7e ton
   2e verset Dessus de Trompette
   3e verset Trio
   Duo du 7e
   Cornet du 7e
   6e verset Dialogue
   Dernier verset Plein-jeu
Magnificat du 8e ton
   2e verset Duo
   3e verset Basse de Trompette
   4e verset Récit
   5e verset (Cornet)
   6e verset Dialogue
   Dernier verset Plein-jeu
Critical Notes


The First Book is also available at Chanvrelin.
See in our catalog : Lebègue, First Organ Book
or get straight to the detail of it.
The Third Book is also available at Chanvrelin.
See in our catalog : Lebègue, Third Organ Book
or get straight to the detail of it.


To go back to the catalog
up to this item,
click on this button

To go to the home page,
click on this button