{ J.G. Werner : Eight Chorales }
Johann Gottlob
Huit Chorals


 Johann Gottlob Werner :
Eight Chorales
One volume 9½” × 13”
22 pages
Euros 25.00

Dead at fourty-five, Werner (1777 † 1822) is a not much known character of the classical German organ world.  He finished his career as organist in Merseburg, on a splendid instrument of four manuals and pedals with (already) a Celeste, which will be rebuilt by Ladegast and will interest Liszt so much.  Apart from his ‘Organ School’, only these Eight Chorales are known from Werner, written in a style which quickly sails far from the baroque and calls on the coming romantism, by introducing rhapsodical elements, lyrical passages, expressive modulations and much more.
Werner provides general indications for registration, from soft stops to full.  The works are in four or three parts, and the latter can be played in trio with coloured stops.


    I. Dir dir Jehova
    II. Dir dir Jehova
    III. Jesu meine Freude
    IV. Jesu meine Freude
    V. Vor deiner Thron tret’ ich hiermit
    VI. O Gott du frommer Gott
    VII. Was Gott thut dass ist wohlgethan
    VIII. Eine feste Burg ist unser Gott
    Critical Notes

To go back to the catalogue
up to this item,
click on this button

To go to the home page,
click on this button