{ M. Greene : Twelve Voluntaries }
Douze Voluntaries pour organ


 Maurice Greene :
Twelve Voluntaries for the organ
One volume 9½ × 13
50 pages
Euros 43.-

Maurice Greene (1696 1755) was one of the most brilliant organists of St-Paul's cathedral in London.  Apart from various honorary appointments, he became Master of the King's Musick, the highest position then in England.  His magnificient Twelve Voluntaries, built following the usual disposition in two parts, are among the most achieved of the kind.  Their style is close to that of his friend Handel and they are the equivalent of what Haendel could have composed as Preludes and Fugues for the organ.  This fundamental volume is one the main ones in the English classical organ area.
The Pedals are never used.
Voluntary I  (A major)
Voluntary II  (F minor)
Voluntary III  (A minor)
Voluntary IV  (G minor)
Voluntary V  (G major)
Voluntary VI  (B flat major)
Voluntary VII  (E flat major)
Voluntary VIII  (C minor)
Voluntary IX  (E minor)
Voluntary X  (D minor)
Voluntary XI  (B minor)
Voluntary XII  (E major)
Critical notes

To go back to the catalogue
up to this item,
click on this button

To go to the home page,
click on this button